Advice or Query?

So, you may well not be au fait with the little red pamphlet of thorniness that is known to all British Quakers as Advices and Queries.  It is not a book of answers, oh no, it is not full of certainty or platitudes. Rather they are meant to be seen as a source of challenge and inspiration.

Today I found Number 11, which starts like so.

Be honest with yourself. What unpalatable truths might you be evading?  When you recognise your shortcomings, do not let that dissuade you.

(The rest of it uses language that may well confuse non Quakers, and a implies a certainty of faith in God that doesn’t reflect my experience, hence the partial quote).

Hmm, looks like I have some homework/discernment/thinking to do then.  The first part seems hard enough. The second part might just be the killer. (Except, of course, I’m not supposed to do it on my own, I have just omitted that part of the advice.  And herein lies part of the problem).